Album ReviewsReviews

Review: Death in June – The Rule of Thirds (2008)

di6_trotartist: Death In June
release: The Rule of Thirds
format: CD, 2 X 10″
year of release: 2008
label: NER / Tesco Distribution
duration: 48:20

detailed info:

After rumours that Death in June had quit, there is finally the release of The Rule of Thirds. After a long period of patience, we are finally treated to a fresh album full of new tracks. It was released on CD, double 10″ picture disc and double 10″ black vinyl. Since I only own the last version, that is the one I will review. The vinyl release looks marvellous, housed in a gatefold with tracklist and logo embossed (especially the embossing is very subtle and beautiful), and two nice thick slabs of black vinyl. Additionally, there is a large poster, with Douglas P. (I presume – he’s wearing a mask) on one side and the lyrics on the other.

It’s safe to say that Death in June fans can buy this one blindly. We hear the familiar singer/songwriter style: Douglas P.’s introverted voice, accompanied by acoustic guitar and various effects. The tracks don’t have a lot of variation between them, but I’d like to name a few highlights. “Jesus, Junk and the Jurisdiction” is pleasant to the ears, with a catchy refrain. The same goes for “Last Europa Kiss”, the title track, “Truly Be” and “Takeyya”, I presume in reference to the religious right that muslims have to hide or deny their faith when seriously threatened or prosecuted – although this isn’t explicitly clear in the track, as mr. P.’s lyrics are still quite symbolic and cryptic.

Despite these positive points, something keeps nagging at me when I listen to this album. It all sounds very nice and there are, as said, certainly several stand out tracks, but somehow it all isn’t quite memorable. There is too little that distinguishes the tracks from one another; it seems as if Douglas is really playing on safe here. More variation or experimentation coldn’t have hurt, in my opinion. Comparing this album to my personal Death in June favourites (Nada!, Brown Book, But What Ends When the Symbols Shatter, and Roseclouds of Holocaust) this one sadly falls short. Still, by itself this is quite simple a good album that is worth checking out and purchasing.

Reviewed by D.M.K.


1. The Glass Coffin (5:53)
2. Forever Loves Decay (4:00)
3. Jesus, Junk and the Jurisdiction (4:06)
4. Idolatry (3:32)
5. Good Mourning Sun (3:55)
6. The Perfume of Traitors (3:42)
7. Last Europa Kiss (2:06)
8. The Rule of Thirds (4:10)
9. Truly Be (2:42)
10. Their Deception (3:04)
11. My Rhine Atrocity (3:33)
12. Takeyya (3:30)
13. Let Go (4:07)